2023 Legacy Ball Recap

Relive the 2023 Legacy Ball experience. Click to watch our highlight video or scroll our gallery for our full event recap. 

Legacy Ball Gallery

2023 Featured Entertainment


Kenny Lattimore



CoJo Ko Music

Featured Artist


Comedian T.C. Cope

Master of Ceremonies

Rejoice School of Ballet logo

Rejoice School of Ballet

Sankofa logo



Miami Mundy

2023 Award Recipients

Purpose Preparatory

Purpose Preparatory Academy

Ms. Lagra Newman
2023 R.H. Boyd Humanitarian Award 

Justin Jones

Tennessee Representative

Justin Jones
2023 R.H. Boyd Service Award 


Tennessee State University

Aristocrat of Bands
2023 R.H. Boyd Excellence Award

2023 Legacy Ball Commemorative Book

Founding Chairs

Dr. LaDonna Y. Boyd

Dr.* and Mrs. T. B. Boyd III

*In memoriam

R.H. Boyd Board of Directors

Dr. LaDonna Y. Boyd

Dr. Matthew Alix

Mrs. Yvette Boyd

Ms. Veronica Marable Johnson

Dr. T. L. Brown

Legacy Ball Host Committee

Mr. Justin Boyd
Ms. Shalae’ Boyd
Ms. Morgan DeBaun
Dr. & Mrs. George and Donetta Butler
Mr. & Mrs. Michael and Pamela Carter
Dr. & Mrs. André and Doretha Churchwell
Ms. Mignon François
Councilman Freddie O’Connell
The Honorable Howard Gentry
Dr. Michael Burcham & Mr. Hal Cato
Mr. & Mrs. Eddie and Taj George
Dr. Glenda Baskin Glover
Mr. & Mrs. Elde and DeLisa Guerrier
Mr. Kabir Singh Sandhu
Ms. Veronica Marable Johnson
Mr. Israel Idonije
Dr. Michael Eric Dyson

Mr. Phil Thornton
Mrs. Evette White
Mr. Aole Ansari
Mr. & Mrs. Alfred and Tiffany Degrafinreid
Mr. & Mrs. Lonnell and Johari Matthews
Pastor Judy Johnson
Ms. Delbrita Greene
Atty. James Crumlin
Mrs. Memorie K. White
Ms. Tequila Johnson
Mr. & Mrs. Der’Ivan Kelly and Keri Kelly
Mr. Emmanuel LeGrair
Dr. Jasper B. Brewster
Mrs. Diana Dudas
Rev. Malcolm J. Byrd
Mr. & Mrs. Bill and Pam Martin
Mr. Daniel Weisman

Pastor & Mrs. Breonus and Jacquita Mitchell
Ms. Lagra Newman
Mr. Robert C. Sherrill
Mr. Anthony O’Neal
Senator Charlane Oliver
Mr. Shannon Sanders
Mrs. Dee Patel
The Honorable Ian Conyers
Mrs. Barbara Patterson
Mr. Vincent Fuller II
Rev. L. David Punch
Mrs. Simone Sheats
Mr. & Mrs. Melvin and Linda Smith
Mr. Joshua Mundy
Mr. Mike Smith and Mr. Kelly Mason
Mr. & Mrs. Charles and Marie Sueing


Becoming a sponsor of the Legacy Ball in Nashville, TN, offers a unique opportunity to support a prestigious event that celebrates the city's rich cultural heritage while gaining valuable exposure and contributing to meaningful community initiatives.